grateful 12.16.15

Today has been an utter crapshoot of a day.  And the best way to deal with utter crapshoots is to list the things you’re grateful for.  So here it goes:

  • I’m so grateful for a house with heat and the finances to pay the bills and buy healthy food.
  • I’m so grateful for the health of the young people.  I have seen the depths of child illness and promise there will never be a day in my life that I don’t put gratitude over my kids’ wellness over every single other thing there is to worry about.
  • I’m so grateful to be working from home.  My cubiemates are my furry warm bodied dogs and cats and even though they can be a distraction and annoying sometimes, they still aren’t singing Christmas tunes in church choir voices, and that makes me so super happy!
  • I’m so grateful to have found my life partner.  He is the most everything and I love him so very much! I love sleeping next to him, and sleeping with him, and eating the food he prepares for us, and that he shares his children with me, and that even though we’re together a lot more these days he’s still the only person in the world I can’t get tired of.
  • I’m so grateful for growth.  It pinches and it hurts and sometimes it plows over you with a dump truck, but it’s the most important “thing” in my life and I’m grateful for it.
  • I’m grateful for the years of friendship I had with the various friends I’ve had, and recognize my Self and life stages in those relationships.
  • I’m grateful for the life and health of my immediate family.  I’m grateful for so many people who love me, even through my unloveable times.  I’m grateful to be a person who loves them back, even through their unloveable times.
  • I’m grateful that there is little that a hot cuppa Earl Grey can’t fix.
  • I’m grateful for the snow that’s on the ground because it means we have more precipitation, which will lead to a healthier summer.
  • I’m grateful for Advil, vitamin D, magnesium, and calcium.  Little buggers change my life for the better.
  • I’m grateful for the internet. I love that knowledge (and absurdity) is right at my fingertips.
  • I’m grateful for silence.  And for alone time.  And for the ability to recognize that this is a need for me, just like sleep and food and caffeine.
  • I’m grateful for making mistakes.  They keep me humble. And I like humble people, so that makes me like myself.  😉
Leave a Reply

